Several weeks ago I made an LJ entry containing information probably only understood by music nerds (like myself) or anti-Satanist religious types(definitely not me). Receiving no comments I can only assume that-
(a.)no one cared
(b.)there were no hardcore ELO fans(nor christian scaremongers) who read it
(c.)I need to get out more and develop a less arcane sense of humor

To atone for my pretension, I selected the first half-dozen ELO albums from my collection and am playing them on the turntable as I work today.

Call me a musical masochist(if you aren’t an ELO fan), but I’m enjoying the punishment.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to

  1. lullabypit says:

    Holler when you get to A NEW WORLD RECORD, which is my favorite ELO moment…

    • marcsuttle says:

      Started it at 2:25 this afternoon. ‘Face The Music’ is my favorite although parts of ‘Eldorado’ also rate up there for sentimental/nostalgic reasons. Driving home from a long trip and hearing a Charlotte station play the extended “Eldorado Instrumental Medley” (included on later CD reissue) is what brought ELO back to mind recently.

  2. Gosh darn it, you didn’t post a link. I’m guessing that I didn’t understand the references.

    • marcsuttle says:

      I think it was my post on 9/22. If you read it and understand, let me know.

      • You mean this?gniksam drawkcab – OLE
        the music is reversable
        but time is not
        turn back
        turn back

        No, I confess, I don’t get it the joke.
        You want me to call upon my inate scaremonger talents to razz you?
        OMG, WTF, BBQ!!!111!! That backmasked music is of the devil!!!!!!!!!!

      • marcsuttle says:

        Yes, you got it. Typing the subject backward while displaying the backward masked message forward. (hahaha – oh, nevermind) I thought of myself as an audio tech-nerd back then. Had a spare cassette player (non-reversable – you had to turn the tape over) and realized that as side A was playing forward, side B was being shuttled backward at the same time in relation to the tape head. So I just unscrewed the playback head, turned it over and could listen to any song backward. That’s when I began transferring some of my album songs to tape just to hear what all those weird backward masked noises were really saying.

  3. I believe that I was on sabbatical when that post came out. So therefore I missed it. I will have to go back, find it, read it and add some comments.

Leave a Reply

