say what?

I tend to misread things early in the day before the caffeine or morning shower clears my mind. Today was no exception as I glanced at MSNBC’s home page and saw an item about ‘myspace’. The article’s title contained the word ‘WhoseSpace?’ but I read it as ‘WhoreSpace’.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to say what?

  1. That’s actually not too far off the mark.
    Last year, I made an experimental account in which I listed my aim as ‘seeking friends only’ who were interested in manga. I received two, no wait, three- propositions to meet men at their hotels within 24 hours. I deleted my account. No fun there.

    • marcsuttle says:

      I’ve recently come to believe, after several years of trying to convince myself otherwise, that the Internet is just not the best place to find “true” friends – for reasons similar to the experience you describe. (this of course coming from the guy who only semi-jokingly tells the story about meeting his wife via “computer dating” back in the ’70s)

      • Yeah, the internet is fairly analogous to a walk down a dark alley. Maybe you’ll meet some sweet people, but probably not.
        Okay, now how on earth were you able to meet your wife via ‘computer dating’ in the 70’s? Arpanet?

      • marcsuttle says:

        Back in 1978 she was a data entry operator at the Florida State Employment Service in Winter Park and I managed the network in Tallahassee. Using a messaging app (forerunner of chat you could say) we struck up a conversation, it evolved in letters. We met, spending the day at St. Augustine Beach and married about a year and a half later. 26 years ago tomorrow. I call it computer dating because an IBM 370 mainframe brought us together.

Leave a Reply

