Most of us have pondered the meaning of the question concerning the tree in the forest that falls and whether it makes a noise if no one is there to hear it. Now consider the solitary worker in a ‘Virtual Office’; if they succumb to the pressure and stress of the job and goes on a rant(or worse) with no one is there as a witness, do they make their point?

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to

  1. No.
    Why, were you frustrated this week? If so, you should rant here, that’s what lj is for.
    But about the fallen tree in the forest, the air molecules are moving whether or not they connect with someone’s ear, right? Whether or not you consider that noise is symantics, I guess.

    • marcsuttle says:

      I could rant better about it verbally in person but haven’t felt up to unloading it here. The same old issue of falling more behind every day in the knowledge required or expected to do a good job but without any practical way to catch up. For almost 20 years I was surrounded by and used or played in the lab, either at HQ or a well equipped branch location, with the actual solutions we were selling. Now in my virtual office I haven’t had any true “hands-on” of existing or new releases since late 2003. Classroom training with real labs is a thing of the past. You are expected to read online documents or take web training. Without eye contact from an instructor where you can interact real time, I get lost. In the world of technology, falling behind just for a year is the kiss of death.

      • Actually, I think you did a pretty good job for not being able to wave your arms around and gesture (a problem that handicaps me severely when I try written communication).
        It brings to mind some of the frustration and disappointment I was having in the latter part of school last year- for instance, we’d read about Active Directory in Server 2003 and never had the chance to even BOOT UP A DANG Win2003 server! It drove me nuts and left me without a clear understanding!
        I switched schools this fall; what a difference. I wish the solution were as easy for you.

  2. Only if they needed to convince themselves of something.

Leave a Reply

