small world or something

My father served in the U.S. Navy during World War 2. He never joined the local ‘American Legion’ or V.F.W. organizations and talked very little about his experiences as a sailor. After his death I went thru all his wartime memorabilia and discovered some photos and another item in particular which aroused my curiosity. After some research (and more than a little luck) I was able to piece together the information contained on this web page-
http://www.geocities.com/subtlenerd/sobotta.html

If you are interested, additional information can be viewed here-
http://www.uboatarchive.net/U-1229.htm

Something unexpected then happened. During the past week or so I was contacted by several people who had located my web pages on the U-1229. First was a friend of the son of one of the 41 surviving U-1229 crew members(who just recently died) and another whose neighbor is Richard Sobotta.

Now I’m wondering would he like his “dog tag” returned.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to small world or something

  1. I’ll have to go check out your research. My dad was/is a Navy man.

Leave a Reply

