additions to the to-be-read pile

Ed Sanders – ‘The Family'(about the Manson Family. Ed was a member of The Fugs, poet/writer/activist and is considered a bridge between beats and hippies)
Tom Robbins – ‘Skinny Legs and All’
Jan Kerouac – ‘Trainsong'(yes, Jack’s daughter)
Truman Capote – ‘In Cold Blood'(never read it before)
Margaret Atwood – ‘Oryx and Crake’
Azar Nafisi – ‘Reading Lolita In Tehran'(read mixed reviews)
William S. Burroughs – ‘Interzone’
Tama Janowitz – ‘Area Code 212’
Abbie Hoffman – ‘Steal This Book’
Barry Goldwater – ‘The Conscience of a Conservative'(no, I’m not one but I am curious about what Barry thought)

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to additions to the to-be-read pile

  1. papoose says:

    ‘Reading Lolita’ is in my pile, too. I actually started it once, but couldn’t get into it at the time.

    • I’ve only read four on your list
      Loved Skinny Legs and All…loved it.
      Love Atwood, only kind of liked Oryx and Crake….way too science-fictiony for my taste.
      Hated Reading Lolita In Tehran….like a 300 page CNN news report. No emotion, in my opinion.
      In Cold Blood…..shiver. Such a classic.
      That’s all I’ve got to offer.

      • marcsuttle says:

        Re: I’ve only read four on your list
        Reading ‘Skinny Legs and All’ now and find interesting the parallels with recent events in the Middle East. (Timing is everything) I picked up ‘Oryx and Crake’ due to its comparison (style wise) with ‘The Handmaids’s Tale’. The dystopian “sci-fi” angle is what I’m interested in. I read reviews that ‘Reading Lolita…’ was dry (I like your assessment) and since it only cost 50 cents, can easily turn it around at paperbackswap.com for something I like better

Leave a Reply

