they never smile for the camera

I maintain a yahoo! group for my high school class. Included are photos ranging from grade school group classroom shots, senior year book portraits plus a few candids I saved. I’ve also tried to collect and post more current photos; either submitted by classmates or that I found searching around the web. This leads me to something I’m debating; in the past I openly questioned our ability to hold class reunions based on who was still alive or not in jail at the time. The State of Florida maintains a past/present inmate database with photographs and I located classmates there. My question – would it be OK, in the absence of any other current photo, to post a classmate’s prison photograph?

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to they never smile for the camera

  1. felixwas says:

    I try to deal with questions like this by asking how I would feel if the situation were reversed.

  2. papoose says:

    probably not a good idea

  3. cosmicmisfit says:

    On the contrary, I think it’s a great idea. If it’s on the internet then it’s public domain, right?

  4. You’re serious?? I think it would depend on whether you could disguise the prinson-ness of the picture or not.

    • Typo queen here: I meant prison-ness. You know, photoshop out the prison uniform and case numbers somehow.

      • marcsuttle says:

        I found it interesting that all the inmates are wearing what looks like light-to-medium blue hospital scrub tops. (orange if you are on death row) No numbers, etc. are shown in the photos. In my searches I found what I initially thought was a classmate but when I checked the birthdate and photo it turned out to be his son. This same former classmate has an older brother on death row.

Leave a Reply

