recently read Vonnegut nuggets

“We are never as modern, as far ahead of the past as we like to think we are”

“Future civilizations – better civilizations than this one – are going to judge all men by the extent to which they’ve been artists. You and I…will be judged by the quality of our creations. Nothing else about us will matter”

“Anytime anything of real dignity appears in this country, it’s torn to shreds and thrown to the mob.”

“People should be changed by world wars else what are world wars for?”

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to recently read Vonnegut nuggets

  1. papoose says:

    I haven’t read Vonnegut in years. I think it’s time to revisit him.
    The last time I was reading one of is books a friend of mine made a snide comment about me being to old to read Vonnegut. I have no idea what that was all about. But then, he’s the one who recommend I read Sylvia Plath’s ‘The Bell Jar’.
    Recommending something like that to someone who is prone to depression, I don’t know, maybe the guy was unbalanced.

    • marcsuttle says:

      Other than ‘Slaughterhouse-Five’ I didn’t get into Vonnegut until my late 40’s. I have found many “truths” or at least things that made me pause and think in his books.

      • papoose says:

        I read a bunch of his books when I was a teenager. I’ve reached the point where I can reread them and they’ll be fresh and new. I only remember that I enjoyed them.

  2. “…to the extent they’ve been artists.”
    Well, posterity-wise, I’m screwed then. I like to draw, play guitar and dance, but I am really not at all accomplished in any of the arts.
    Unless one broadens the definition of ‘art’ to include ‘nurturing small minds’, which IMO, really is more of an art than a science, regardless of the standard wisdom so often repeated in parenting literature.

  3. My favorite memory of Vonnegut reading (and it’s been a great many years, so I don’t even remember which book it was), was the charactor who proposed having arbitrary family groups to belong to, so you would never find yourself alone with no one to love you in some strange city- your ‘relatives’ would HAVE to take you in.
    I just loved that concept.

  4. We are never as modern, as far ahead of the past as we like to think we are
    I think about that every time I watch an old movie from the 30s or 40s and see how incredibly, sensuously dressed the movie stars are in some of those.
    And I’m forced to remind myself, when tsk, tsking the revealing dress of modern day youth that back in the 70s, we wore halter tops and jeans with 2″ zippers.

Leave a Reply

