the philosophy according to Meathead

‘All In The Family’ originally ran from the time I was 14 until I was 22 years of age. In hindsight I don’t recall much about the various “controversial” subjects it supposedly contained but it did teach me one important lesson. This morning as I was getting dressed and putting on my socks and shoes I (once again) thought back to the episode which had such a great impact on my life. Archie was observing son-in-law Michael Stivic putting on his socks and shoes. Mike deliberately put on one sock then the shoe for that foot before continuing on to the sock and shoe for the other foot. Archie immediately was all over him questioning his method saying something about normal people putting both socks on first before putting on their shoes. Mike looks at Archie and describes a theoretical scenario where the house catches on fire half way thru dressing his feet but even with all the fire hoses and water around he can hop around on one foot and keep his feet dry. He then explains that in the same situation, regardless of what he does, Archie would end up getting at least one (if not both) socks/feet wet so his way was the better way to go about dressing. Of course Archie thinks Meathead’s method is idiotic but it made perfect sense to me. So most of the time when I kneel to take care of my feet it’s like I’m bowing down paying homage to Meathead, Norman Lear or non-conformity in general.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to the philosophy according to Meathead

  1. joebanks says:

    I remember that episode! While from the begining I had to agree with “Meathead’s” argument I could never bring myself to completely dress one foot first. Which would i choose first, right or left? I guess I’m an Archie; sock and a sock.

  2. mcmatz says:

    Is there something about that particular subject that formed the thinking of an entire generation?
    I have always remembered that episode and have pondered on it many times over the years although I remember nothing else from that episode!
    –Madeline

Leave a Reply

