before this it was northeast Florida’s best known speed trap

Investigators are reviewing surveillance tapes after someone attacked a sex shop preparing to open in Waldo in what Alachua County officials are calling an act of domestic terrorism.

Detectives said that someone over the weekend set up a homemade device that spewed a chemical throughout the building being readied to open as Caf? Risqu?, an adult-entertainment store.

On Monday, investigators still had not identified the chemical, but said it was corrosive. A Gainesville Fire-Rescue Department’s hazardous materials team removed the device and tests will be conducted to determine what substance was pumped into the building.

“It comes under domestic terrorism, we’re going to look at it as such,” said Alachua County Sheriff’s Office Sgt. Keith Faulk. “We’re going to prosecute to the fullest extent as it can.”

Officials said use of such a device is a first-degree felony punishable by up to 30 years in prison.

“Somebody had a real mastermind behind this,” Caf? Risqu? co-owner Jerry Sullivan said. “Somebody set out to hurt me, my brother-in-law and my business. And I don’t take lightly to someone hurting my family.”

Sullivan told Channel 4 that people around Waldo had tried everything from prayer to protest to keep him from opening the restaurant, but he said neither those tactics nor this most recent attack will keep him away. Construction on the building will continue as planned.

The store, which will sell adult magazines, videos and sex toys, is set to open in a couple of months.

“You don’t want to hear what I got to say; you couldn’t print it on TV,” Sullivan said. “I’m coming; this business is coming. It’s legal and coming. OK?”

My home town is not too far away from Waldo and I’ve traveled that area many times over the years. Next time I’m slowing down to pass thru I’ll keep my eyes open for something new.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to before this it was northeast Florida’s best known speed trap

  1. castlelady says:

    And here I thought only people in my neck of the woods are backwards and closed minded. What’s so wrong with opening up a sex shop? I bet the ones who scream against it the loudest have a box full of “toys” at home….everything ordered over the Internet!

  2. My sister used to live in Starke, where the state prison is, when she wrote for the Fl Times-Union some years back. All I can say is, he picked a heck of a dumb place to open a sex shop. I mean, wouldn’t there be a lot more customers in Gainesville? Is Waldo even off any major highways?

    • marcsuttle says:

      Waldo has that big flea market area on both sides of Highway 301 just north of ’24’ which splits off to Gainesville. I agree with your observation about the choice of location. The local native ‘cracker’ populations’s idea of a sex toy is probably a corn cob coated with lard.

Leave a Reply

