It was announced today that the company I work for was sold to a competitor. That alone is not surprising given the history of the industry (telecommunications) I’m in. But as I’ve thought about it this afternoon the more I question how well I fit in and what is best for my future happiness. All these telecom companies that are around in one sense are the direct result of AT&T’s deregulation in 1984. That was the year I left my first employer and went to work for a company that was purchased by AT&T four years later. I never worked for the true “Ma-Bell” version of AT&T though much of its culture continued to exist until it started spinning itself into smaller companies (Lucent Technologies, Avaya – I was spun with both) and eventually into oblivion. My 28 years in the “biz” has lead me to a few conclusions; one of which is that a large segment of customers would be a lot better off if AT&T was still a monopoly. Yeah, that’s heretical thinking but sheep(customers) need dogs(government) to make their decisions on how to proceed. (realizing not all customers are sheep but you might be surprised just how many)

Like I’ve posted (ranted?) before, I’m underwhelmed these days with the continual advances in technology (no I am not a Luddite dammit!) because they allow individuals to become more isolated while feeling they are somehow in touch with the rest of society in a meaningful manner. The conundrum for me is that I’m involved in an industry which, in my opinion, is depersonalizing (dehumanizing?) how business is conducted by/for many consumers yet treats me very well and provides me with a very comfortable existence. (read back over my archived posts to understand my general unhappiness)

I don’t feel like I’m in any immediate jeopardy of losing my job because between the two merging companies there isn’t much geographic overlap and there are some substantial differences in the services they each provides. But, after what happened after almost 20 years with AT&T, et al,, I learned to never say “never”.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to

  1. joebanks says:

    I’m not sure deregulation of anything (energy, airlines, telecommunications) has ever been good for consumers.

Leave a Reply

