Which is the better use of brain cells; pondering what might be considered useless trivial knowledge or sacrificing them while enjoying excessive alcohol consumption? My research has only explored one side of that question recently, resulting in this-

Most Pop or Rock ‘n’ Roll (and probably Country too) concerns itself with a given set of universally understood emotions. But sometimes I get the idea that at one time artists (and I’m sticking to Pop/Rock here), wanted to sing about something else and I think I know what it was.

Chicken. That’s right. Poultry.

There were the Doors with Jim Morrison grunting out Willie Dixon’s ‘Back Door Man’ – “I eat more chicken any man ever seen”.

‘Chicken Train’ by The Ozark Mountain Daredevils

‘Dixie Chicken’ by Little Feat

An unlisted track lasting just a few seconds on the album ‘More Beer’ by the L.A. punk band Fear-“Chicken, oh chicken, chicken, oh chicken, chicken, oh chicken, chicken all over my plate” with a solo acoustic guitar before it segued into the next more typical I’m-pissed-about-something-or-other Fear song.

Peter Wolf ad-libbing to guitarist J. Geils about his playing style as “chicken pickin” on their ‘Full House’ live album.

(and many other I’m sure but the above are my favorites)

At one time this fad was pursued with humor and style before it died away or was turned into a novelty by Adam Sandler singing something about “My Little Chicken”.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to

  1. Anonymous says:

    Does Howlin’ Wolf’s “Red Rooster” count?

  2. ikahana says:

    Ah! This is actually a favorite subject of mine. For the last few years, and I have been talking about raising a couple of chickens in the back yard. Here in Seattle there is an organization that gives workshops on Urban Chickens, and there is a self guided tour once a year where you can visit people who have chickens and see their set ups and talk with them and get to know all about chickens.
    Because all of my obsessions at some point flow into my music obsession, I’ve been obsessed (last time with the obsession word) with chicken songs. Rufus Thomas – Funky Chicken, Cibo Matto – Know Your Chicken, Slim and Slam – Chicken Rhythm, well…the list goes on.
    I love that chicken music!!!! My plan is to gather the best of the chicken songs and make a little mix CD. Then, when we finally get around to having chickens (probably will take 40 years with our current ratio of planning:finishing) we can be part of the urban chicken tour and I can have chicken music playing as folks come by to see our birds.

  3. marcsuttle says:

    Yes. There should be no bias based on gender.

  4. felixwas says:

    Many years ago, Ry Cooder referred to an album he’d released as “chicken skin music” because it would give you goosebumps if you listened to it. Which sounds a little odd, now that I think about it …

  5. Ike Reilly Assassination
    Ooohh! I vote for pondering what might be considered useless trivial knowledge! I LOVE useless trivial knowledge!
    Speaking of chicken songs, here’s a great one, by a great band. We LOVE these guys:
    Ike Reilly Assassination
    CD: Sparkle in the Finish
    Song: Our Lady of Arturo.
    Lyric snippets:
    Chickens all over my bedroom, singin’ to me, “God loved you once…”
    Step right up to the microphone, and spill all you have done…
    Chickens drive my cadillac, left it parked up in the lawn singing to me, “God’ll love you anyway, it don’t matter what what you’ve done…”
    One man’s yard bird
    is another man’s chicken
    is another man’s factory
    is another man’s freedom
    is another man’s dinner
    and another man’s memory
    is another man’s nightmare
    and another man’s dream…
    I’m waste deep in bad sheep
    lookin’ for a good shepherd…
    I could go on and on about Ike, but I guess I’ll save that for another post, and stick strictly to chickens here.

Leave a Reply

