Several years ago a Charlotte, NC FM radio station changed its format and tagline(again). Now known as 95.7 “The Ride” it plays almost non-stop primarily songs from the ’60s and ’70s including many that weren’t necessarily in heavy rotation back in those years. A little but more obscure if you will, an example I heard yesterday was Richie Havens version of “Here Comes The Sun”. I listen to the station only while working in my garage. (I think Atlanta has a relatively new station with a similar format called “the River”)

Back in 1969 my wife used her parent’s Sony reel-to-reel tape deck to record several hours of an Orlando, FL AM radio station (WLOF – 950). When her parents downsized their living quarters my wife ended up with the deck and tapes. I find it interesting to listen and remember how “top forty” radio sounded back then. (I was a WAPE – 690 AM, “The Big Ape” Jacksonville, FL listener in 1969) Recently replaying the old tape after just hearing “The Ride” it finally dawned on me that even though the new format is almost narcotic in how it plays on my feelings of nostalgia for the old music I grew up with (thru college) the one thing it lacks is any sort if personality as put across portrayed by the DJ. It sounds very sterile when I stop to think about it. I might as well be playing my albums or CDs.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to

  1. binky011 says:

    Well, when radio stations starting “outsourcing” their DJs a lot of the color went away, if you ask me. And by outsourcing I mean that you get some guy in Florida (for example, I think one goes by the name “Big Rig”), who has a show that sounds local but is in fact recorded with actors providing the call-ins and a bit of local color thrown in here and there by market.

Leave a Reply

