Several years ago co-workers gave me a pre-loaded Starbucks card for xmas. They packaged the gift in an unused ‘tall’ clear plastic Starbucks cup complete with lid and green straw. After removing the card I saved the cup and placed it in a cabinet containing such treasures as my parents’ set of 1950’s aluminum drinking cups (my wife hates them so I keep them hidden) and my unopened cans of Billy Beer. Today, in an act of desperation, longing to feel like I was actually at Starbucks, I used the plastic cup to mix up a Nescafe Ice Java Mocha drink. I think they taste better that way (or when served in a 12-16 oz. styrofoam cup which is what I normally use but was out of today)

I’m so weird. (for saving the cup initially and then again for actually using it)

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to

  1. Well the only thing that strikes me as noteworthily weird is that you actually like to drink out of a styrofoam cup. Doesn’t it make your teeth freak out? When I sip out of a styrofoam cup, I’m visually distracted by the little spheres of liquid that stay intact, up near the rim, like mercury balls.

    • marcsuttle says:

      Don’t remember that happening with the milk used in making mochas. Maybe it’s related to carbonation? I have noticed that with a new styrofoam cup fresh from the plastic storage sleeve as I drizzle the mocha/coffee syrup straight into the center of the cup the stream tends to veer off as it nears the bottom, sometimes sticking to the side and then sliding down. Must be static electricity.

      • Well, aren’t we a pair, observing all the subleties of liquid behavior in styrofoam.

      • marcsuttle says:

        That’s just one of several oddities I’ve observed and noted in the everyday world we live in. One of my favorites is “stalactites” that grow out of ice cube trays in the freezer. This is a well documented by others and I even photographed my own version. But I have no desire to be “Mr. Science”

      • Ooh! We get those in the freezer at work, and that’s the only freezer I’ve ever seen them in my 50 years of life on this planet!

Leave a Reply

