friends shouldn’t let friends see bad movies

A guy I knew growing up starting about the 4th grade until we lost contact around 1982 used to be what I would consider a normal easy going type of person. He was as friendly and courteous as anyone I knew during our youth. One of our last conversations was him telling me about the life altering event which occurred when he attended one of the ‘Omen’ movies while high on some drug. It seemed to have rewired his brain in a major way because what used to be a laid back, cool golf playing teenager who joined the Air Force after high school was turned into a somewhat fanatical in-your-face bible thumping christian working as a bag boy at Winn-Dixie who used a bicycle for transportation everywhere. The last time I saw him was at a high school graduation ceremony where we both knew someone receiving a diploma and instead of just saying ‘hi’ or chatting he knew I worked with technology and tried to stuff some pamphlet into my shirt pocket as he warned against the use of barcode scanning technology as the way for the devil to catalog/identify souls or some or some related idiocy. I wonder how he felt when Winn-Dixie converted all their checkout lanes to barcode scanners?

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to friends shouldn’t let friends see bad movies

  1. “I wonder how he felt when Winn-Dixie converted all their checkout lanes to barcode scanners?”
    Well, obviously it was the work of the devil!

  2. saint_chree says:

    doesn’t he become the president in the third one?
    I think he does, because the fourth one is about his daughter.
    I need to quit working at a video store

Leave a Reply

