On a two day business trip to Miami and one of the books I brought along for airport reading was Aldous Huxley’s ‘Brave New World Revisited’. It’s a non-fiction review of the world in the late ’50s and where it might be headed. Huxley frequently compares/contrasts what he wrote about in his 1931 book ‘Brave New World’ to George Orwell’s ‘1984’. This is a re-read for me and once again I find myself shaking my head at just how frightenly accurate Huxley’s predictions were about what could and would happen. You don’t have to be familiar with the original ‘BNW’ to understand ‘Revisited’.

Does anyone else have examples of writers looking and thinking ahead then getting it right with their predictions/warnings?

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to

  1. bordendazed says:

    One of my generic past times (futuristic history, or wasn’t tomorrow wonderful?) – what ever happened to the undersea communities? only widescale prediction I see that never came to pass….

    • marcsuttle says:

      Huxley talks about overpopulation (among many other things) and the idea of colonies on the moon or Mars. He points out that as Europeans migrated to the Americas, it in no way helped improve the situation of the countries they left behind.

Leave a Reply

