supporting the (recycled) economy

Yesterday it was used books: ‘The Soft Machine’ – William S. Burroughs, ‘Cockpit’ – Jerzy Kosinski, The Stranger’ – Albert Camus(liked the newer translation I read recently from the library so much I immediately scarfed up the same edition when I saw it in the used bookstore for $1.50) and finally ‘Existentialism from Dostoevsky to Sartre’ – Walter Kaufmann(this one is already giving me brain strain).

Today was used BlueNote jazz CDs; ‘A Night at the Village Vanguard, Vol. 2’ – Sonny Rollins(1957), ‘Candy’ – Lee Morgan(1957), ‘Music from The Connection‘ – Freddie Redd(1960), ‘Let Me Tell You ’bout It’ – Leo Parker(1961) and a collection of previously unreleased tunes from the early/mid ’60s by a host of well know jazz players.

Since I was up in south Charlotte today I gave myself a treat at Starbucks but came away feeling confused. Most true hardcore coffee drinkers probably consider me a wimp for enjoying iced mochas or flavored lattes but at least they have large amounts of caffeine via the espresso shots they contain and and are also somewhat coffee colored. However, I saw someone drinking some sort of ice blended drink that looked like a normal ‘frap’ except it was PINK! No. No. No. Whipped cream, which even I avoid, is OK as a topping but ‘Pink’ should not be the color of any drink served in anyone’s coffee house. It looked like a friggin’ smoothie. Starbucks, you disappoint me.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to supporting the (recycled) economy

  1. Bargains galore
    One of my quests is to find all of John Irving’s and Pat Conroy’s books, hardcover, in used book stores. I have 8 Irvings (7 used) and 4 Conroys (3 used).
    And that’s what I do with books I buy or receive that I don’t love or like enough to keep; I trade them in at the used store for different books. What else can you get for $1.50 that has so much value?

Leave a Reply

