Montrose

This 1973 album by the group named after lead guitarist Ronnie Montrose gets my vote as the best ‘hard-rock’ album of the 1970’s and maybe beyond. Not receiving much attention at the time, it did have a couple of minor hits with ‘Bad Motor Scooter’ and ‘Space Station No. 5’. My favorites are the opening cut, ‘Rock The Nation’ and ‘Rock Candy’. (“you’re rock candy baby; hard, sweet and sticky”) And on the subject of vocals, you notice that partially obscured guy on the right side of the album cover with his eyes down? That’s Sammy Hagar. I find it interesting that even though I enjoy Van Halen (both Roth & Hagar editions) I’ve put V.H. aside and found myself increasingly playing Montrose when I feel like rocking out. Besides, this is the album I want playing as the soundtrack to my fantasy movie as I crank up my 400+ horsepower Mach 1 and roar down the road.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Montrose

  1. Nice, Marcus. Another of my favorites. Did you get to see the reunion this past summer on the Hagar tour?
    I used Rock Candy as a band name in the late 70s, and as a stage name, back in the early 80s.
    Nothing engendered a loud response from a drunken female audience like dropping the “My name is Rock Candy, because I’m hard, sweet, and sticky” line.
    Ronnie Montrose did some fine solo work too, particularly the Open Fire album.

    • marcsuttle says:

      Was never a solo Hagar fan and my hearing has kept me from live music for decades.(the only way I can tolerate a concert is to sit as far back as possible while wearing earplugs) ‘Town Without Pity’ (from Open Fire) is one of my favorite guitar instrumentals. It was one of the tunes I sought out and downloaded using the original napster.

Leave a Reply

