literary notes

Finally assembled the complete list of last year’s books read – (see it here). Out of 76 total a dozen or so were re-reads. There seems to be a general theme of mid/late 20th century counter-culture. Abbie Hoffman and Jerzy Kosinski stood out as the writers I enjoyed the most. I had never taken Abbie for anything more than a left-wing wacko but after reading several of his books I now wonder where all the Abbies of today are hiding. (we need more like him) Jerzy Kosinski’s ‘vignette’ style really grabbed me though ‘Pinball’ wasn’t up to his earlier work. The biggest disappointment was Herman Hesse. ‘Siddhartha’ was OK at best but ‘The Journey to the East’ went nowhere and I gave up on ‘Demian’ after two attempts. Even though I have many more books to read by both writers, so far I’ve found William S. Burroughs more interesting than Jack Kerouac. Burroughs seems more like a deviant who writes honestly where Kerouac’s writing is a little too “wide-eyed”.

(Here) is the list so far for 2006. Comments, criticism, reviews, insights and recommendations are welcomed.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to literary notes

  1. What did you think of the Faulkner you read?
    Have you read Steppenwolf?

    • p.s. Have you read any Edward Abbey?

      • marcsuttle says:

        I found “As I Lay Dying” strange bordering on bizarre as far as the subject matter.(I kept imaging what it was like to smell a ripe human corpse) On the other hand, I’m intrigued when it comes to the beliefs (superstitions?) of less-worldly people. Maybe because they remind me my roots aren’t all that far removed from where I think I’ve grown or evolved to. The dialect and rhythm Faulkner used took a while to grasp but after that it was almost a page-turner wanting to find out how it ends.
        No on Steppenwolf and Abbey.

Leave a Reply

