one person’s tragedy is another person’s marketing slogan

Jonestown has given us what has to be the most ill-conceived metaphor in use throughout the world of business today; “drink the kool-aid”. Personally I’m not about to kill myself just because the rest of the world doesn’t buy into my vision of which technology I think is best. (there was one instance where a corporate briefer, while talking to a prospective customer, described the efforts of our marketing department as “spewing our poison”…yeah, I think he nailed it with that one)

My current belief is that no one product or vendor has the ultimate solution across the board to fit any or all needs. More to the point I believe too many technologies have done more harm than good to humanity overall by distracting us from the things in life that really need our attention. (something I’ve posted/ranted about previously)

After almost 22 years aligned with vendor ‘A’ no ultimate truths have been revealed that indicate what I do(or sell) offers any important benefits or advantages when compared for instance to vendor ‘C’.(or vice-versa) Therein lies the question: “what IS important?”. Certainly not the technology if the goal is to obtain technology just for the sake of having the latest, fastest, coolest gadgetry. If content is absent to start with then the gadgets are toys not tools providing only entertainment. But of course what I see being advertised most these days is new ways to deliver what is normally thought of as entertainment for personal enjoyment.

But don’t mistake me for a ‘Luddite”. I would never advocate destroying direct-to-DVD movie productions because they threaten the existence of movie theaters but I will continue to use my older TV with manual tuner knob and rabbit-ears rather than put out big bucks for a new wide screen, flat panel, HDTV because technology has never produced a better network sitcom.

I’m just not thirsty anymore but am more than willing to meet you at Starbucks to discuss it over an iced mocha or hazelnut latte.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

