I still read dead people and other trivia

Yesterday was an overcast drizzling blah day so I started and finished another novel by a writer who killed himself, ‘The Rum Diary’ by Hunter S. Thompson. Written earlier in his career I found it easier to digest than some of his later crazed(I’m not going to say the word) style. There were some glimpses of the latterday HST and I enjoyed the book having visited St. Thomas where some of the action takes place.

The group ‘Bubble Puppy'(“Hot Smoke & Sassafras” from 1968) was on my mind this morning. Learned ‘Bubble Puppy’ were managed by Nick St. Nicholas(bass player for Steppenwolf) and later changed their name to Demian. Sort of a “ha-ha, I get it” for the literati. (who says R&R and literature can’t mix?)

Up next: Fun facts and trivia about “Pictures Of Matchstick Men” by Status Quo and a couple of Dirk Gently novels.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I still read dead people and other trivia

  1. ikahana says:

    I’ve never read any of Hunter S. Thompson’s books, although I’m fairly certain I must have read an article or two in Rolling Stone back in the day. I’ve always had him on the list of folks to get to, although I’ve also been a bit intimidated especially after seeing the movie with Johnny Depp. I loved that film, but I figure that if his writing style is anything like the way his story was presented on screen, I wouldn’t be able to follow it. I’m much better with visuals when things get crazy.
    So, sounds like you give it a thumbs up?
    Maybe because I haven’t finished my first cup of coffee, but I’m having trouble placing “Bubble Puppy”.

    • marcsuttle says:

      It’s been a while since I read them but I preferred HST’s earlier books (Hell’s Angels, Fear & Loathing on the Campaign Trail ’72) than his later stuff once he became famous. Reading what others wrote about HST is also fascinating. I recommend “The Boys On The Bus” by Timothy Crouse, a writer for RS who wrote about the reporters who covered the ’72 primaries. A whole section is dedicated to HST who surprisingly was the only reporter who covered the campaigns from beginning to end. (hence his book mentioned above)
      Wasn’t sure how I’d react to reading ‘The Rum Diary’ since unlike most of his other work it is fiction but it did have me turning the pages wanting to know what would happen next.
      ‘Bubble Puppy’ was a one-hit-wonder ’60s psychedelic band from Texas. I didn’t find out about them until sometime in the mid 1990’s when I heard their song played on the local oldies station. They have the Amboy Dukes “Journey to the Center of the Mind” vibe going on.

Leave a Reply

