close your eyes, open your mind and listen

Yesterday started with a stack of eight CDs I intended to play while working (all live jazz recorded at Birdland or the Cafe Bohemia) however for some unknown reason the realization that I hadn’t listened to much King Crimson in a long time (other than ‘In The Court Of The Crimson King’) suddenly hit me. (‘In The Court…’ is one of my favorite albums/CDs and it gets played regularly. To see other favorite albums click here) I have most of King Crimson’s early work and pulled ‘In The Wake Of Poseidon'(1970), ‘Islands'(1971), ‘Larks’ Tongues in Aspic'(1973) and ‘Starless and Bible Black'(1974) off the shelf. Giving each one a good cleaning, I cycled them on and off the turntable. I find myself doing the same thing again today as the jazz CDs wait patiently to be played.

King Crimson produced music that has been labeled the first and best example of “art rock”. Capable of producing both delicate and thundering music with lyrics to fit either, King Crimson has been referred to as the thinking person’s Pink Floyd.

Tastes often change and music is just as apt to go in and out of favor as anything else. So why hadn’t King Crimson, other than ‘Court’, made an impression before now? Had I read too many group histories and bios getting lost in the constant turmoil and upheaval which seemed to plague them from their beginning? Did I think this somehow translated into some inability to make consistent music? Yes, as the reviews pointed out ‘Poseidon’ is a reworking of ‘Court’ but that doesn’t make it any less enjoyable. I found the other albums a worthwhile listening experience and am glad I got around to appreciating them.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to close your eyes, open your mind and listen

  1. Just out of curiosity, have you ever considered making CD audio backups of your old LPs?
    I realize you probably prefer the rich sound of the old analog turntable, but wouldn’t it be nice to have it on a format you could take in your car?
    Just idly wondering.

    • marcsuttle says:

      Yes I have. I taken several steps to preserve my old vinyl. For those albums I really like, play frequently and generally consider irreplaceable, I’ve bought the CD version. For artists who have put out many albums I’ve created some “greatest hits” CDs of my favorite songs to cut down the wear and tear of regular use. Over the holidays I did quite of bit of album to CD transfer work.
      Most recently I took all the “one hit wonder” albums I own with that one favorite song from each to create a CD.
      When cassette taping was the popular way to go, I did the same thing back then so this is the second time being saved for a lot of my music. (I still have hundreds of old cassettes I made during the ’80s)

Leave a Reply

