yes I did laugh but I need something more

I watched the premiere of NBC’s new show “The Book of Daniel” last night. Afterward I thought it seemed like a combination of television shows I’ve seen before:

1. ‘Desperate Housewives’ (continuing storyline about upper middle class people with all sorts of messy little problems they are trying to hide or avoid while acting as if nothing is wrong)

2. ‘Soap’ (black housekeeper who observes everything, family members who are crazy, gays, marital infidelity, mafia, priests)

3. ‘Joan of Arcadia’ (protagonist of show sees and talks with higher religious authority)

4. ‘House’ (this is sort of a stretch but I did notice right away that Daniel, like House, likes to constantly pop pain pills. The difference is Daniel shares his)

I gave up watching ‘Housewives’ after the first season because I prefer shows which wrap up after each episode and answers/resolves most of the issues that were raised in that episode’s plot. ‘Soap’ was a program I fondly remember thru a haze of “smoke” during my final year in college. ‘Joan’ I just simply miss and don’t think ‘Daniel’ will be a suitable replacement. Guess I’ll still be reading more on Friday nights.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to yes I did laugh but I need something more

  1. No kidding. I’ve read the book and I’m certain it’s better than the TV show. If it’s the book I think you’re talking about.

    • marcsuttle says:

      Older post I know but just came across a reference to “The Book of Daniel”(by Doctorow, author of Ragtime) which is a fictionalized version of the Rosenberg spy incident where the parents were executed. The TV show has nothing to do with that.

Leave a Reply

