I recall many years ago after a customer meeting a co-worker asking if I had noticed that the person we had just called on lacked any photos or personal items in their office. Nothing to indicate they had a life apart from work. This customer also had a reputation as a hard-ass and general caustic outlook on everything. I wonder what visitors to our home would think based on what items we have on display? Other than several dog show/hunting test shots of my wife or I posed with our winning dogs and ribbons there are no traditional family photographs or even informal snapshots. Our refrigerator has its share of items held in place by magnets but most of these are dog related as is all of the items we consider “art” covering our walls.

The record album currently playing on my turntable is one that caught my eye while antique/junque shopping New Years eve day and I just had to have. ‘Peter Nero Play A Tribute To Herb Alpert & The Tijuana Brass’ from 1967. The word ‘kitsch’ comes to mind.(maybe there are better adjectives but they escape me at the moment) Somehow the “Theme from Zorba the Greek” and Nat Adderly’s “Work Song” seem out of place among the other well known Herb Alpert favorites. I grew up listening to my parent’s Herb Alpert albums and would occasionally check out Peter Nero records from the library. (‘Chet Atkins Picks On The Beatles’ is another album I recall playing)

I need to find a good online dictionary or reference for Sociology. Some of the finer points in the discussion and understanding of introversion(nature vs. nurture), introspective life, internalized life, self examination, etc. are on my mind at the moment and I’m seeking clarification.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to

  1. Well, I once spent about 6 months as a substitute teacher at a private school, and I had a few complaints about the non-decoration of my classroom. What on earth would you need besides a periodic table, huh?

Leave a Reply

