use them as filler to repair the breached levees

“I’m really surprised people in this day and time would try to take advantage of the system that’s intended to help those in need” – statement by a relative of one of the 49 people arrested for filing fraudulent hurricane Katrina claims. Predictions to the total amount of illegally diverted money is between $300,000 to $400,000.

Why am I more surprised by the naivete of the relative than the criminal actions of the scammers? What universe do they live in?

“poor people have poor ways” is a saying I heard many years ago from someone who most likely would be considered “rich” based on most income scales. Their statement had to do with the observed actions and choices made by people they deemed “poor” believing it was useless to attempt changing a poor person’s habits. This same person also rationalized the choice to put their child in private school based on the assumption the other students in attendance would be of a higher “class” than children who went to public schools. What goes unsaid is that many rich folks have ways that could be considered poor in that no matter what mess they make in their lives they assume a poorer person will be there to clean up after them.

We seem to exist in a world where everything imaginable; government/politics, education, economics, religion, sports, entertainment, art, personal choices are governed by an “us versus them” attitude. Any type of information media (including blogs) contain an increasing amount of finger pointing. Wanting to believe “we” are right and anyone saying differently is wrong, and oh by the way, if they disagree with me I’ll just ignore them and hope they go away is leading to a constant splintering of society.(part of this I attribute to how easy it is now to disseminate a particular point of view to a mass audience) We only have to interact with those people like ourselves and avoid anyone who doesn’t meet the standard we hold for ourselves. Do we risk all those tiny fractures joining together into a number of larger chasms causing a breakdown in society?

Online shopping just came to mind as a way for certain people to avoid getting out in traffic, waiting in lines or having to interact with the riff-raff. Someone else will even deliver it to their home!

Speaking of that, between typing the previous line and this one I checked the mail. The copy of “Electric Music for the Mind and Body” by Country Joe & The Fish I ordered from Amazon arrived. Ah, if only I had something to go with it. Yes, I did inhale at one time but those days are long gone. Though I did save a several packs of papers and my Rizla “roller” in case things were ever legalized.(fat chance) Sure, I’d do it all again but these days I usually settle for something with a double or triple shot of espresso from Starbucks to provide the buzz.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to use them as filler to repair the breached levees

  1. I was with you when you were writing about the dangers of elitism, but you totally lost me when you got to the tie-in with online shopping. Huh?
    Nice points, though. There’s a poor trash mentality and a rich trash one, too. Yuppers.
    What really gave me a snort was all the rich SUV driving yuppies who cried louder than anyone about the gov’t’s Katrina screw-ups, but would’ve never even made an effort to befriend or help said poor neighbors previously.

    • marcsuttle says:

      Online shoppers can get everything they need(food, clothing, entertainment) without leaving their homes and dealing face-to-face with people they might find undesirable. Combine that with working from home and they (we) become completely cocooned.

  2. onyxblue1 says:

    That’s all very well and good, but more importantly, have you made up your mind about Cerealized? And have you managed to listen to any Richard Thompson yet?
    Seriously, it doesn’t look good for us that it’s easier to believe someone would try to get money that they don’t deserve than to believe that someone would not realize that happens all the time. Of course, we wouldn’t be cynical if it were the other way.
    I have a Non Sequitur that I cut out of a newspaper (probably the Chicago Tribune) years ago. It says “Why cynics outlive optimists,” and shows some guys in pith helmets looking at a couple of human skulls on stakes, saying, “Well, my guess is, it means, ‘Welcome, stranger!'” I need to scan that and post it on my info page.

Leave a Reply

