What’s so funny ’bout peace, love and understanding?

Watching Sunday Morning on CBS earlier today I learned about the return of Donovan Leitch. 2005 has turned out to be a big year for reunions(Cream/Pink Floyd), comebacks(Donovan) and other strange musical shockers(John Fogerty’s return to the Fantasy label). I think Donovan’s works from the ’60s has held up fairly well compared to much of the “flower power” stuff of that era. I still listen to his music occasionally. ‘Season Of The Witch’ and ‘Barabajagal’ are my favorites.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s so funny ’bout peace, love and understanding?

  1. felixwas says:

    A radio station out of Buffalo plays a lot of unclassic rock: music from the ’60s, ’70s, ’80s, etc., but stuff you rarely hear on the radio. I’ve heard a bit of Donovan: “Atlantis” and “Hurdy Gurdy,” to name the two songs that come to mind. The first time I heard “Atlantis” again it blew me away: I’d not heard that song in at least 35 years. Suddenly I was a freshman in high school again wearing bell-bottoms, Nehru jackets, funky medallions and sandals.
    Ever hear Vanilla Fudge’s cover of “Season of the Witch”? Way strange.
    And based on what I’ve read, the Cream reunion worked better as a concept.

    • marcsuttle says:

      One of the local PBS stations used the Cream reunion DVD as a gimick to draw in viewers(donors) during it’s beg-a-thon this past week. I caught about a half dozen numbers. Their present day image doesn’t fit the music(the way I remember them/it), which I thought was played with a little too much restraint. It was more about nuance than power this time around. We all know Clapton has maintained his skills, Jack Bruce looked old but Ginger Baker’s energy(at his age for the drummer he used to be) was surprising.
      The older I get the less I understand why V.F. ever existed. The other version of ‘Witch’ which I find acceptable(given the context) is the one on the Mike Bloomfield/Al Kooper/Stephen Stills ‘Super Session’ album.

Leave a Reply

