Without advertising which side of the debate(s) I’m on; why is it so many people who are in favor of legalized abortion tend to be against the death penalty? Or that people who are strongly opposed to abortion are just as vocal in their support of the death penalty? This seems odd, especially when I view the death penalty as “retroactive abortion”.

Received my second book in as many days from paperbackswap.com, this is great! (‘Revenge of the Lawn’ – Richard Brautigan and ‘Kaddish’ – Allen Ginsberg)

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to

  1. binky011 says:

    Oh, don’t get me started on that whole “culture of life” hypocrisy out there… Spit those babies out like watermelon seeds, but don’t do anything to help them once their born.

  2. sidelobe says:

    It’s all in how you define government, citizen, crime, and criminals, and how you think each should be treated.
    I actually think that each pair of views is self-consistent. I also think that both sides of each debate need to step back and get smarter!
    From the Devil’s Dictionary, by Ambrose Bierce:
    Homicide, n. The slaying of one human being by another. There are four kinds of homicide: felonious, excusable, justifiable and praiseworthy, but it makes no great difference to the person slain whether he fell by one kind or another—the classification is for the advantage of lawyers.

    • marcsuttle says:

      I have a nice illustrated hardcover version of Bierce’s “dictionary” I found back in the early ’80s. I keep it on the book shelf right next to Jon Winokur’s various “Curmudgeon” books and “The Left-Handed Dictionary”.

  3. felixwas says:

    I think there should be executions during halftime of the Super Bowl and at other major sporting events. Maybe during the World Series they could hang someone at every game. Talk about a seventh-inning “stretch”!

Leave a Reply

