What the world needs now…is another Beatles biography?

Reading the “Authors” page at NPR’s website I noticed a new 992 page biography on the Beatles was released.(The Beatles: The Biography” by Bob Spitz) At the library yesterday I saw a copy, glanced at it, then placed it back on the shelf. I just wasn’t that curious to know more about the Beatles.

Most of the people who read this, like myself, can recall when Beatlemania invaded the States. There were a lot of things happening but it was mainly about the music. As a group the Beatles stayed together longer than many groups, shorter than others. Since their breakup(how many decades ago?) the media/press have never let go of them because they always seem to sell.

Reading a few online reviews about Spitz’s book today made me glad I didn’t bring it home. It was pretty much trashed because of excessive of factual errors as pointed out by Beatle-ophiles who apparently haven’t been able to move beyond 1969 in their lives. Count me in the number who don’t really care about how all four Beatles suffered with V.D. early in their career. The ’60s are over and no one is disputing the changes that occurred not only with the music but in society overall which the Beatles helped initiate.

The Beatles have their place in history but the one thing that will guarantee they stay there is the music. So play their 45s, LPs, tapes, CDs or mp3s to help remind yourself what it was like. Remember, all the books came after the fact.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

