growing old is (so far) better than the alternative

The brainiacs at AARP continue to be clueless about my age. Still many months short of my 50th birthday, I received another invitation to join. They aren’t doing their image any favors. You would think a simple test for math skills would be administered before hiring people to work there. Must be one of the perks of joining. So you screw up on your taxes? It doesn’t matter! We’re over 50 and we can’t count!

On a related note, as of yesterday I am officially using a prescription drug that I will need the rest of my life. Seems I’ve developed glaucoma. Nothing I’ve noticed so far and probably wouldn’t for years but without the daily drops, one day – lights out!

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to growing old is (so far) better than the alternative

  1. We keep getting notices about the medicare drug law change around here. Jeez, I’m 43!!!!!!!!!!
    That’s really serious news about the glaucoma. How exactly were you diagnosed if there wasn’t a problem you’d noticed?

    • marcsuttle says:

      Routine eye exam using a new machine(new for me at least) to track how each eye could detect a small white flash of light as it moved all over the inside of something similar to a planetarium. You click a mouse like device for each flash you see and they map out the results of any blind spots. Photographs they took of inside of my eye also had some indicators so was subjected to additional test/measurements. Still can’t tell I’ve lost vision but was told I had in one of my eyes.

  2. binky011 says:

    I was in the Marine Reserve, never served overseas, never was on active duty (other than 139 day extended duty); and yet I still keep getting invitations to join the VFW.
    I haven’t started hearing from AARP yet (I’m “only” 45), but I’m sure they’ll start up Real Soon Now so that my obviously-nearly-senile brain will remember to sign up once I’m old enough. 🙂

Leave a Reply

