Hell No I Won’t Go! (or watch)

Yesterday’s local TV broadcast of the WW2 movie “Windtalkers” confirmed what I had suspected for some time now; I’m no longer interested in “war” movies.(thank you very much Steven Spielberg) Initially planning to sit and watch, the more I though about it the less I liked the idea. The older I get the more I realize that unless you were there (and who in their right mind would want to be) the memory of war should be the exclusive domain of the surviving combatants. We all know the outcome of the Civil war, World Wars 1 and 2, Korea, Vietnam, etc., so why try to make anything more out of it by creating fictional “human interest” subplots?

So when will the armed forces of this country adopt a video game outlook and develop a way to fight wars “virtually” like you see with Xboxes and Playstations? Bolstering a country’s image by putting soldiers in harms way seems so outdated. (hint: the military has possessed red “Easy Buttons” for fixing these problems for decades, maybe they should push a few) I continue to hear rumblings about reinstituting the draft which for once make me very glad I beyond a certain age.

And it isn’t just war movies – When Stars Wars Episode 2 aired recently I stopped in for a few minutes here and there while my wife was watching. Each time I all saw was violence and/or special effects. The dialog was stilted, the battle scenes excessive and once again, since Episodes 4,5 and 6 came out first, doesn’t everyone already know how it ends? Never thought I would say this but after catching a few minutes of Shrek last night waiting for football to end before switching to FOX for The Simpsons, a cartoon about a funny green ogre seemed more interesting than watching light saber contests.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

