Charity begins at Line 15 on Schedule ‘A’

Just how charitable is someone who claims any donation made as a deduction when filing taxes? Seems oxymoronic. How many supposedly selfless taxpayers only contribute to charity just so the government will reimburse part of it? That’s greed not charity.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Charity begins at Line 15 on Schedule ‘A’

  1. I know what you mean about schedule A. We have a super low monthly payment on our home mortgage ($255/mo.) so we really never go over the standard deduction amount even though we come close. (Well, sometimes we go over a bit, but not enough to justify the extra work on my part.)
    If I did itemize, it would be because I believe I could do a much better job of spending my $ than the gov’t. Even though I have *extremely* liberal leanings towards social programs, I happen to think that every gov’t program around is inefficient and wasteful. (For instance: If they spend $5000 on a food stamp program, betcha $100 goes to the needy family and the rest goes to the program’s infrastructure.)
    I think lifestyle/consumer choices are even more telling than tax returns. I don’t suppose I’d feel too greedy considering that I drive a 1995 station wagon *just* so we can afford to give bunches. (mostly to Sudan)

    • marcsuttle says:

      The one time I really infuriated a co-worker was when I told them that overall I was satisfied with the services provided by the government for the amout of taxes I paid. By their reaction you would have thought I was trying to rob them. (Republicans have no sense of humor when it comes to money matters)

      • My experience has been that people who feel strongly about politics in general, regardless of party affiliation, can be royal jerks. I avoid deep discussions with those types.
        But you brought up a good point. As inefficient as I feel our gov’t is (as stated above, not to mention those $500 toilet seats the military’s always buying), I do indeed enjoy bi-weekly trash pickup, clean water, excellent roads, etc. Thanks for the reminder.

Leave a Reply

