hear ye, hear ye

I finished off the last of the Halloween candy yesterday. As an adult with established good dental hygiene practices, I feel that it was better for me to eat all the Reese’s Cups that were unclaimed by the “no-show” trick-or-treaters. They would probably just end up forming new cavities otherwise.

Our tradition of having a non-traditional Thanksgiving meal this year will be T-bone steaks cooked on a real charcoal grille. (no gas!) There will be no turkey w/stuffing, cranberry sauce(yuk!) nor pumpkin pie(yuk!) consumed. No football will be watched on the television. No trips to visit relatives nor visitors expected. (unless any of you show up unannounced then you will be welcomed) No trips to the mall this Friday to participate in the season of greed shopping madness. There will be several books and many journals read.

Starting today the soundtrack from “A Charlie Brown Christmas” by Vince Guaraldi went into heavy rotation on my Windows Media and CD players.

In case you were wondering, I will not be sending out any cutesy online greeting cards via email.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to hear ye, hear ye

  1. felixwas says:

    I talked to one of my students the other day; she was working at a mall department store. Said she’s got to be to work at 4:30 a.m. Friday. This is madness.

  2. What? No cutesy e-cards? I love you like a brother, man.
    It IS better to eat the Reese’s than the trick or treaters. I’ve also heard that kids stick to your teeth and cause cavities.

    • marcsuttle says:

      The only other person who tells me “I love you like a brother, man” is a former co-worker heavily into religion. I have to threaten to kick him in the groin every time he approaches just so he won’t try and hug me. He is so annoying that another co-worker told him, “John, I’m guessing you got beaten up a lot as a kid.”
      Thank you for noticing my grammatical error. I thought about rewording it last nite as I was posting but thought, nah, readers will know what I mean.

      • That’s the problem with having e-friends and the lack of body language when posting.
        #1 When *I* say, “I love you like a brother, man.” I’m pretending to be a hippie.
        #2 As if I actually *cared* about grammatical errors and such. If I see something phrased a teensy bit awkwardly that’s my idea of serendipitous fun.
        Sheesh, I’d be hard pressed to find even one of my own posts that wasn’t loaded with typos, spellos and grammos.

      • marcsuttle says:

        Boogers. Apparently comments aren’t being delivered via email. You are right about the lack of body language. I’ve also been guilty of ignoring punctuation “smileys” etc. which people include(I rarely use them) and been taken to task for taking comments too seriously.
        Were you ignoring me many, many posts ago when I asked if you knew Kevin Nickel (one time Litton Laser guy – worked on some weapons targeting system that sat atop military helicopters – I think) or did his name just not mean anything? Yes, I am obsessively curious at times.

      • No, not ignoring, but I’m still wracking my senile brain to come up with an ID on this guy. Seems to me that he worked in the clean room (optics). Of course , we ALL worked on target designating laser systems (I did mostly the receiver electronics), but the clean room bunch were a special group.
        The one atop a helicoptor was probably the MMS Sytem (mast mounted sight). Hmmm.
        The thing is, the guy I’m thinking of had long hair in the 80s, was tall and extremely gifted in electro-optics, but fairly, uhm, naughty in his personal life. Did I connect the name with the right person?

      • marcsuttle says:

        Kevin has always maintained a rather “clean-cut” image. No long hair, etc. He was at least six foot five inches tall with black hair and beard. Pretty enthusiatic about life and outgoing.

Leave a Reply

