too close for comfort

A musical group I’ve become entranced by are the ‘Cowboy Junkies’, a four member band including two brothers and one sister of the Timmins family. Margot Timmins is one of the most captivating singers I’ve heard. They are also Canadian but have a good handle on Hank Williams, Patsy Cline AND Lou Reed. (and they were Hunter S. Thompson’s favorite group) Shania Twain, also Canadian, is the antithesis of country music genre she is most frequently associated with. Shania may be a lot of things, mostly “show-biz”, but she ain’t country in my book. As a singer, Margot Timmins has a better grasp of “country”(and soul, and feeling, and a lot of other things) than Shania has ever shown. So when I glanced at the newspaper today and saw that Shania was from ‘Timmins’, Ontario I immediately wondered why the Timmins siblings had not yet changed their name.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to too close for comfort

  1. dog_inheaven says:

    I will have to listen to them. My daughter is back in the netherlands. They like country, cowboy stlye, mixed a little with grunge. I listened to the Killers the other day and liked them. She likes Wilco, who I’m not familiar with, but like too. I think Shania Twain is weird. The only thing I associate her with is football and the one “successful” song she turned out.

Leave a Reply

