yours, mine and ours

Almost a week now since the elections where voters in Mecklenburg County(Charlotte), NC voted against every proposed school bond and both sides are still vigorously battling (accusations/finger pointing/threats/warnings) in the letters to the editor section of the Charlotte Observer. As a resident of a neighboring county without similar bond issues nor any short term impact by their vote, all I can do is observe. The root problem as I understand it is overcrowded schools. Other than spending money in some fashion I haven’t heard any proposed solutions. Which leads me to wonder when someone will speak up and address the real problem; to many people having way too many children. I’m not advocating no kids, just cutting back some to ease the situation for everyone. (all discussion aside of the breeder woman who is up to 16 kids and wants more) Sure, it will be several years until the results are realized but I bet it would happen faster than paying the bonds off. I used to think that not wanting to have kids was the most selfish choice an adult could make but now I believe wanting to have kids without really thinking how society overall is impacted is very short-sighted and egocentric.

Milestone news. Over six years ago I purchased five large (8.5X11 – 196 page), blank, hardbound journals to place my thoughts. Today I finished filling the third volume. Blogging has reduced the amount I write in long hand and I do try to transfer entries made in one mode to the other when appropriate. I also keep other separate “specialty” journals; one dedicated to my “dharma” thoughts, one for music, jazz mostly and another for scribbling poetry/verse ideas, some of which end up on LJ eventually.

Whether it’s a book I’m reading or my journal, the idea of holding a bound copy of something is more comforting than using any electronic version.(I feel the same when it comes to albums, tapes or CDs compared to mp3s etc.) A good book gives me more of a sense of security than a cell phone. Just knowing a phone call might interrupt my reading is unsettling.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to yours, mine and ours

  1. Oy. Guilty. (of having more than my share)
    On one hand I feel a bit sad that children are so commonly percieved as burdens, but on the other I certainly do remember my pre-kid feelings of ‘yuck’. (On the grounds they might drool on me or something.)
    If it makes you feel any better, I home-schooled my three for many years.

    • marcsuttle says:

      My parents never gave me any reason to think my sister and I were burdens. Other than gender and three year age difference, our lives were(of course) very similar, very parallel. So why did my sister want kids(two) and I didn’t? Was it the gender conditioning?
      The small town experience of only one choice per elem/jr h.s/h.s. only experience did not prepare me for comprehending schools with thousands of students each.

Leave a Reply

