the interest rate is at prime plus a half a cup

Today’s ‘Living’ section of the Charlotte Observer led with an article about a 32 year old woman’s experience with breast implants. Not happy that her breasts were no longer “perky” after having two children she did some shopping, finding a suitable doctor and implants to increase her 34B minus to a full 34C. A home equity loan taken out by her husband paid for everything.

I’m lucky to be married to a 50+ year old woman who is quite comfortable with her 34B image. She rarely wears a bra mainly because there is no need. She isn’t a slave to the everyday make-up routine and maintains a trim figure many women lacking her self-confidence would kill for. Even though she has never expressed interest in cosmetic surgery, I regularly tell her she is just great just the way she is.

So when I saw the full body “after” photo, the new 34C look outlined by a snug t-shirt, you know what I thought?(besides looking slightly top heavy) If she’s that insecure at 32 about her breasts, looking at her from the neck up I would have guessed she was much older and from the waist down her legs are somewhat out of proportion to her size 4 frame. I have a feeling I know what is in store for the future.

Her husband better hope their home equity line holds out.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to the interest rate is at prime plus a half a cup

  1. hopeevey says:

    Her husband better hope their home equity line holds out.
    I can’t help but feel a little sorry for people who think so little of themselves that they feel the need to go under the knife – but only a little.

Leave a Reply

