I used to live there

more than a collection of houses
a real community is
a place where neighbors
come to borrow a cup of sugar
walk up to your back door
press there nose against the screen
ask if anyone is home
catch each other’s escaped pets
keep them watered and safe
until the owner returns home
ask you to stop by
and help with a chore
pull something out of the attic
or fix a broken appliance
chatting across the backyard fence
learning all the news and gossip
not found in the local newspaper

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to

  1. Hi- it’s me. I don’t get on LJ as much as I have in the past due my my considerably ramped up schedule, but I noticed you friended me and friended you back. Be warned though, I have a few less than happy things going on in my life- although my whinier rants are easily avoided.
    I’m truly surprised you don’t have a lot more ‘commentage’ on your posts. You have some thought-provoking ideas to share.
    Yes, indeedy, those moments mentioned in your poem are the ones that make life sweet.

    • marcsuttle says:

      I’m truly surprised you don’t have a lot more ‘commentage’ on your posts
      I’ve received that observation before and often wonder myself. I found in some LJer’s bio something about LJ being a choice not an obligation, but still am curious about what the few people who have friended me think. However, too much diagnosis might kill the patient. One commenter was very surprised that more people hadn’t friended me. She used an acronym to describe my journaling style-“POAC” or “Posts of Actual Content”.
      Those words I wrote about “community” were a reflection about growing up in Green Cove Springs where you knew everybody and they knew you. Subdivisions and “planned communities” (I just realized I could write a rant about that concept) have almost destroyed a way of life I knew and enjoyed. (I battle with trying to be nostalgiac while avoiding sentimentality but dont always succeed)

  2. What you wrote about Green Cove Springs get me thinking about how thankful I am to live where I do. So I posted a *bunch* of photos of our small town.
    Also, I see I haven’t friended you; thought I did, but apparently not. I will warn you that you’re about 25 levels of sophisication above me.

    • marcsuttle says:

      I saw your posts last night and they brought a few things to mind. The lake photos reminded me of growing up less than two blocks from the St. Johns and all the time I spent in, on or around the river. W.G. has the vibrance and vitality that Green Cove lost in the very late ’60s once shopping malls were built in Jax. The city planners have made various attempts to come up with ideas but so much of the heritage I remember has been demolished. (Did you know Disney once tried to negotiate with Green Cove to buy the old adjacent navy base to build his resort? The city fathers/landowners wanted nothing to do with it. The world as I knew it would have been much different.) Up until a few weeks ago I maintained a “Green Cove Springs” related blog at yahoo360, not wanting to clutter LJ with my nostalgiac posts and old photos/stories of “home”.

Leave a Reply

