I haven’t done this recently

memories

what I live for, based solely on how I’ve lived
defining what will be, it’s all about what was
memories:
entertain, accuse, comfort
betray, encourage, tease
beguile, humor, empower
but ultimately fail me
it’s all about me, always has been

practice makes perfect

I’m practicing growing old
but doing it in real time
shuffling every day to the mailbox
driving slow in heavy traffic
wearing comfortable jeans and shoes
falling asleep before 10:30 PM
dreaming about the good ol’ days

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I haven’t done this recently

  1. dearest_b says:

    Who is it about if it isn’t about you?
    The good old days are worth remembering. That’s why they’re called that.
    I would never run to a mail box. Who hurries toward bad news and junk mail? You could have a letter box cut in the front door. I have. It means you only have to bend to pick up off the floor. After that, you can’t even shuffle…not even if you want to.
    I have no idea why you haven’t done this recently. It’s a shame really. Did you forget?

Leave a Reply

