If someone asked me to list my favorite movies I would include ‘To Kill A Mockingbird’, ‘Gandhi’, ‘Zardoz’, ‘BladeRunner’, The Killing Fields’, ‘Reds’, ‘Lawrence Of Arabia’ and a few others. However, ask me what movie I most closely identify with and I would tell you ‘High Fidelity’ starring John Cusack. Played it again last night as my wife was watching NASCAR.(I don’t do sports on television or anywhere else) Previously several of Cusack’s asides during the movie spoken directly to the camera resonated with me. Well, I found a new one again last night. One of his speeches to his girlfriend ‘Laura’, that I probably heard a dozen times or more by now, suddenly got my attention and I sat there thinking how it applied to my life.

If you must know it was his comment about the “fantasy” never “delivering”.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to

  1. endsmouthjy says:

    Hello I used to live in Green Cove Springs Fl. (my reason for stumbling upon this page) I read a few of your entries just out of pure curiosity and I must say I find you quite interesting to say the least. I also noticed you are a Nick Drake fan (who happens to be my favorite all time musician) anyway I’m a 17 year old “poet”/musician that just happened to come across a brilliant mans page.
    Ps – I’d love to read some of your poetry.

    • marcsuttle says:

      Thanks for the kind words. I came to appreciate Nick Drake later than most fans of my generation. I had his name on a list of artists strongly recommended who I wanted to hear and finally got around to paying him some overdue attention.
      At one time I had 100 or so poems on the Internet at postpoems.com but removed them in June due to lack of any real constructive feedback. I’ve toyed with the idea of putting them on my own web pages. Occasionally I’ll post one on LJ.

Leave a Reply

