they probably can’t spell mediocrity either

When reading an interview with some public figure I am often bothered by their answers to the question of most recently read book or favorite movie. Bland, shallow choices with tendencies toward current pop-culture fads seems to be the norm.

When the interviewee is a politician seeking an elected office, I really raise an eyebrow at the frequent mention of patriotic flag-waving, religious or self-improvement items. God, country and apple pie still seem the best way to get elected and the voters don’t really need to know how many times they’ve watched ‘Porky’s’. Do you think they(or the general population) know all sorts of amazing poetry exists outside of Hallmark card shops, quality films were produced decades before DreamWorks/Pixar/Surround-Sound and many fine books were written before Oprah went on her first diet?

I’ve turned into a cultural snob.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to they probably can’t spell mediocrity either

  1. onyxblue1 says:

    Cultural snobbery can be a good thing.
    You looked at me; I had to return the favor.
    Has anyone ever told you that you look kind of like Richard Thompson (at least in that icon, you do)?

    • marcsuttle says:

      No one has told me that. (Richard Thompson the musician? ex-Fairport Convention, etc.) Googled his image and would not be insulted if anyome did. Our beards are similar and the amount of hair on top is about the same. He smiles more but has more crows feet that I do.

      • onyxblue1 says:

        That’s the one. I’m listening to The Old Kit Bag right now, and the picture on the back of the CD case is the one that made me think it.
        He does smile a lot for someone who writes such incredibly pessimistic music.

      • marcsuttle says:

        During the more than ~37 years I’ve seriously listened and collected music, can’t say I heard any Richard Thompson and knew what I was hearing. Probably my loss based on the many reviews and comments I read about his work. (and I do tend to like darker/pessimistic artists at times)

      • onyxblue1 says:

        Yep, you’re missing out. I highly recommend him. The Old Kit Bag is his latest, and it is . . . wonderful. Rumour and Sigh is from the early nineties, and it’s really excellent, also. Actually, I can’t think of anything by him that I haven’t really liked, and I like the darker side, too.;-) If you go to his website, you might be able to hear clips of songs, I’m not sure.

Leave a Reply

