I’m no longer that “Desperate”

Besides the abrupt cancellation later, the sense of disappointment I felt during the second season of ‘Ally McBeal’ still resonates years later. Like many others, I was caught up in the first season buzz starting with a highly favorable review given by the curmudgeonly John Leonard on CBS’s Sunday Morning program and fondly remember the next day office “water-cooler” conversations about the previous night’s episode. But with the beginning of the second season the buzz suddenly died. I would come into work and no one wanted to discuss what happened. They had moved on to other things and I suspect this coincided with reality TV becoming the next big thing.

With ‘Ally’, even with the ongoing sub-plots, each episode would introduce a story that was wrapped up with a definite outcome by the hour’s end. (House is more to my liking because of this) So when my wife got me interested in ‘Desperate Housewives’ last season, every episode I watched led me closer to the belief that viewers were being strung along and it was nothing but a nighttime ‘soap-opera’. As a “virtual” office worker there isn’t anyone to discuss it with anyway so I’ve decided this year to not follow the inhabitants of Wisteria Lane and to go with Mystery, Masterpiece Theater or reading on Sunday nights.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’m no longer that “Desperate”

  1. dearest_b says:

    I only saw one episode of the housewives thing. Couldn’t for the life of me understand why anyone there would be desperate. Not unless they were competing in who could be character with the shiniest hair, biggest house or skinniest thighs stakes.

Leave a Reply

