more music I like

As a senior in college I was exposed to a broader range of music thanks to the roommate I had for that year. Besides the groups ruling the airwaves then (Fleetwood Mac, The Eagles, Steve Miller and Lynyrd Skynyrd) and toned down from the usual metal/space/acid/blues/hard rock I preferred (plus as a protest against anything resembling disco: thump-thump-thump-thump), we listened to large amounts of Steely Dan, Billy Joel, George Benson, John Klemmer, Weather Report and a double album by the group War titled “Platinum Jazz”. In the long run it is only the Steely Dan and War that I still enjoy now. Apart from the hit “Spill The Wine”, which was closer to a fun or novelty tune done while they were the band backing Eric Burdon’s post ‘Animals’ solo effort, my first real appreciation for ‘War’ was their early ’70s album, “The World Is A Ghetto”. A true blend of styles including R&B, funk, jazz, Latin, pop and social commentary, “Ghetto” went to the top of the rock/pop charts and amazingly enough was the best selling album of 1973.
Image hosted by Photobucket.com
I collected all their albums up thru the late ’70s releases, but the one I enjoy most which concentrates and best displays their skills is “The World Is A Ghetto”. Uplifting and haunting. Check it out sometime.

A curious tidbit about the group is that the only white band member somehow maintained the largest “afro” hairstyle.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to more music I like

  1. felixwas says:

    Still like the Dan, and I remember the title song to that War record — at least the chorus to it, anyway.
    There was so much good music from that era that never got the exposure it deserved, and it’s always a treat to rediscover that music and find that it still sounds good. Then again, sometimes it doesn’t, and you wind up saying, “What was I thinking?” The answer to that question is another matter entirely, of course.

Leave a Reply

