is something up or am I just paranoid?

Even though our house sits under one of the approach paths to the Charlotte airport we are still far enough out (25+miles) than often the passenger jets passing overhead are barely audible. Growing up in Florida with its proliferation of military bases I am very familiar with the sound of low flying fighter jets screaming overhead. Starting about 10-15 minutes ago as I was in the middle of my previous post there have been a half dozen or more jet aircraft flying over in a hurry to get somewhere. That they were in groups of twos is another clue as to their purpose. It is a sound I have never heard living here since leaving Florida in 1988.

*Update A few minutes ago I read where a “flyover” of F-16 jets would take place for the opening of today’s NFL game in Charlotte at 1:00PM. Guess I heard them coming and going.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to is something up or am I just paranoid?

  1. felixwas says:

    I don’t know how much jet fuel costs, but couldn’t the money have been better spent on something other than flying over a freaking football game?

    • marcsuttle says:

      It’s twice as bad when they have military flyovers at the beginning of NASCAR events. Why do I think the people who complain most about rising fuel costs are the same ones who spend a small fortune to drive to these events(tickets, parking, merchandise, food, fuel, etc.) rather than stay home and do something locally in their own backyard or community?

Leave a Reply

