Realizing late in the process male pattern baldness doesn’t actually start at the hairline of your youth and work back from there but rather it begins, at least in my case, at the eyebrows.(look at my then and now LJ photos to see what I mean) Recently I’m noticing a new development, ARS (Andy Rooney Syndrome). That stage in life when eyebrows begin to grow in heavily making you look more curmudgeonly than normal. I may have to trade in my scissors for a hedge trimmer. And why does mother nature think I only need the heavier growth above my right eye and not the left?

Fenestrated. During last night’s reading I came across a new (at least for me) word. Grabbing the dictionary as I normally do in this situation I opened the book at a random page preparing to see where I was and which direction I would have to look in my search. I was very surprised to see that without consciously trying I had opened the dictionary to the exact page I needed. I double checked the word at the top of the left-hand page, ‘felonious’ (very Steely Dan-ish if you ask me) and ‘fertileness’ at the top of the right-hand page. How often does that happen? Fenestra, fenestrae, fenetrate, fenestrated, fenestration, all the variations are filed in my brain. I found the context in which the word was used somewhat odd; Tom Wolfe in his book “The Electric Kool-Aid Acid Test” tells of an event where Ken Kesey and his Merry Pranksters invite the Bay area Hell’s Angels Motorcycle Club over for a social outing. As documented by Wolfe, it was probably the most peaceful event of its type. Normally Hell’s Angels don’t interact or play well with others who are different than themselves and the Merry Pranksters were definitely different. During the several day event one out-of-town female guest willingly offered herself up to the Angels to do with as they pleased.(which they did often and repeatedly says Wolfe) But the way he described it was different – “…she had been fenestrated in various places at least fifty times…”. Neither the architectual nor the biology related definition of the word fits precisely but when you put as many words on the page as Wolfe you are always looking for new ways describe the action. Given its usage, finding the word between ‘felonious’ and ‘fertileness’ was odd.

Keeping up with the news as the story develops (Clang!), I’m reminded of a frequently quoted segment (Clang!), from a popular Monty Python movie (Clang!).

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

