books read so far this year

Last updated June 6th. I’m not a member of any “books I read/like/recommend” LJ community so you get to see them instead –

The Breast(Philip Roth)
Venus On The Half-Shell(Kilgore Trout)
The Liberation of Lord Byron Jones(Jesse Hill Ford)
Slaughterhouse-Five, Cat’s Cradle(Kurt Vonnegut, Jr.)
Rhythm-A-Ning(Gary Giddins)
Long Time Coming And A Long Time Gone, Been Down So Long It Looks Like Up To Me(Richard Farina)
The Last Picture Show(Larry McMurtry)
Less Than Zero(Bret Easton Ellis)
Queer, Naked Lunch(William S. Burroughs)
Herovit’s World, The Sodom And Gomorrah Business(Barry N. Malzberg)
The Birth Of The Beat Generation(Steven Watson)
The Rolling Stone Book Of The Beats(various)
The Dharma Bums, Big Sur, Pomes All Sizes, Book Of Blues, On The Road, Maggie Cassidy(Jack Kerouac)
Planet News, Allen Verbatim, Howl and Other Poems(Allen Ginsberg)
Willard And His Bowling Trophies, Trout Fishing In America, Loading Mercury With A Pitchfork, The Hawkline Monster:A Gothic Western(Richard Brautigan)
The Armies Of The Night(Norman Mailer)
The Strawberry Statement:Notes Of A College Revolutionary(James Simon Kunen)
Revolution For The Hell Of It, Woodstock Nation, Soon To Be A Major Motion Picture(Abbie Hoffman)
Trial(Tom Hayden)
Soul On Ice(Eldridge Cleaver)
The Lords And The New Creatures, Wilderness:The Lost Writings Vol. 1, The American Night: Writings Vol. 2(Jim Morrison)
In His Own Write, A Spaniard In The Works(John Lennon)
Sex Drugs Rock & Roll(Eric Bogosian)
The Da Vinci Code – Special Illustrated Edition(Dan Brown)
Slouching Toward Bethlehem, The White Album(Joan Didion)
The Medium Is The Massage(Marshall McLuhan)
Brave New World, Brave New World Revisited(Aldous Huxley)
We Are The People Our Parents Warned Us Against(Nicholas Von Hoffman)
From Bauhaus To Our House(Tom Wolfe)

There is one book on the list, in my opinion, that looks totally out of place compared to most of what I read and it isn’t the Gary Giddins book about Jazz, a subject that I’ve read a lot about.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to books read so far this year

  1. binky011 says:

    Venus On The Half-Shell(Kilgore Trout)
    I’m guessing this one. I read it in high school, and every six or seven years I pull it out and read it again. It’s a very strange little book.

    • marcsuttle says:

      No, it was the Da Vinci Code, the only book from this century. The bulk have been around for decades and many are books I hadn’t previously read. The only reason I read ‘Code’ was my wife received it for xmas from a nephew and it was sitting around after she finished it, otherwise I would have never touched it.
      I thought the confusion over Kigore Trout’s real idenity was interesting.

Leave a Reply

