Is it just me or was anyone else surprised there were no news items or bad puns over the past few days containing reference to ‘Katrina and the Waves’?

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to

  1. dearest_b says:

    It’s for that very reason. That vague hope. That i’ve been watching Fox News for the past couple of days.

  2. mmmmgreen says:

    **laughing**
    I hadn’t even thought of that….

  3. wackdaddy says:

    That was the first thing I thought of when I heard about Katrina a few days ago, but was the first person I saw that wrote it in his journal.

  4. mcmatz says:

    Maybe on The Daily Show, tonight.
    I think any of the straight news outlets would be afraid of incurring the wrath of the humorless and the younguns’ going “Huh?”
    –Madeline

  5. binky011 says:

    Nope, they’re making this joke instead:

    …But wouldn’t you know, the biggest dittohead on the block, Rush Limbaugh, is calling the storm Hurricane Katrina vanden Heuvel and warning that the left is going to use this tragedy against the right. Jonah Goldberg, who has never seen a bad joke bandwagon he could resist jumping on with both feet, blogged, and I quote, “It would be pretty cool if Fox played to caricature and repeatedly referred to the hurricane as Katrina vanden Heuvel.” Not satisfied, he went on to imagine the headlines, “The destruction from Katrina vanden Heuvel is expected to be massive…The poor and disabled are particularly likely to suffer from the effects of Katrina vanden Heuvel.” …read on

    • marcsuttle says:

      I confess, that one went right over my head. Never heard of her. Assuming she was real (and her name wasn’t some sort of bad pun) I looked her up on the Internet. Now I must learn what “The Nation” is all about.

Leave a Reply

