After an earlier unsuccessful attempt I managed to start over at the beginning and work my way thru Richard Farina’s novel “been down so long it looks like up to me”. I think the key is to consume smaller portions and let them sink in before moving on. On my first try I was reading 100 or so pages in one sitting like I was running a marathon and felt overwhelmed. In 1966 at age 29, the same evening as the book signing celebrating the release of his only novel, Richard was thrown from the back of a motorcycle and killed. I wish he had lived longer because there were a lot of questions raised as I was reading his book, the main one being “what the hell was that all about?!”.

The “official” Richard & Mimi(sister of Joan Baez) Farina website is (here)

Came across a weekly comic strip that appeals to my sense of humor – (The Perry Bible Fellowship). There is a related LJ community and an RSS feed if anyone is interested.

I get to drive to Marrietta, GA this afternoon, pick up one our setters brought up from FL by rescue, then turn around and drive back late tonight.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to

  1. mmmmgreen says:

    Hi… not related to the above post.. but… I read your comment in Samae’s journal about liking show Square Pegs… I liked it also and decided I needed to check this journal out… (love the spousal abuse story!!)
    I am adding you as friend so I can read more (dont feel like you have to add me)but it that’s not okay… just let me know and I take you off…

    • marcsuttle says:

      Thanks for the comment. I never object when someone adds me. Even if I don’t add people back I usually scan their journals and occasionally comment. I do tend to wonder about those who add me and then never comment.

  2. binky011 says:

    Whew… there’s a lot of strips in there that are not work-safe. 🙂 I’ll have to take a look at it when I get home.

Leave a Reply

