gimme shelter

The temperature and humidity projected to both be in the upper ’90s today with the heat index well over 100 degrees. (Accuweather’s “RealFeel” forecast was 114) I’ll probably end up posting more rather than roasting outside.

Finished reading ‘Maggie Cassidy’ last night. (Jack Kerouac’s story of teenage love) I picked up an old original 1959 Avon paperback copy several weeks ago. If I had only seen the cover art instead of Kerouac’s name during my browsing I might have passed it by. The cover shows a pastoral scene of a young couple lying in a grassy field with flowers on a sunny warm day. I found this to be very misleading; first because most of the story takes place in the snowy winter months of Lowell, MA but mainly because the girl on the cover is blonde and Kerouac repeatedly describes Maggie’s hair as black! (this bothers me) On the plus side I’ve found where sellers are asking as much as $50 for the exact version of the book I bought for $1.25. If I ever sell off my book collection, assuming the bottom doesn’t drop out of the used book market, I might make a profit.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to gimme shelter

  1. mcmatz says:

    What a great find. Please keep good shape! My father died with about 100,000 books {this is not exaggeration) crammed into his 25’x48′ brick bungalow in Chicago. He had signed first editions of things like “Dark Carnival” by Ray Bradbury his first book published), “The Natural” and the first printing of “Fahrenheit 451” which came out in both paperback and hardcover at the same time. But he was a 3-pack-a-day smoker and didn’t protect the covers so most of the books were trash. It was very sad to see them destroyed by the years of smoke and handling.
    And I agree about the discrepancies in cover art. It bugs the heck out of me, too. I keep reading and checking back to look at the cover again, as if it would change somehow.
    –Madeline

Leave a Reply

