it’s a mad, mad, etc.

As a high school NJROTC cadet I enjoyed several experiences with Navy life including a week at sea aboard the aircraft carrier USS Franklin D. Roosevelt. At some point during our trip one of the (many) ship’s sailors started hanging around our berthing area. I first noticed him as a food server on the mess deck. His build was slight and he could easily pass for one of our group of teenagers. For reasons I never figured out he fervently tried to convince us of all sorts of things including his explanation of why the ship had (momentarily) stopped its forward motion. He was trying to sell us on the idea that the FDR had been hit by a Russian torpedo(?) and that repairs were underway. This incident set back my overall impression of the US Navy and just exactly who they would allow to wear the uniform.

Fast forward a few years when I was out of college and was invited to a local public outdoor shooting range by a co-worker for some target practice. Upon arriving my co-worker looked around and said “uh-oh”. He then began to strap on all sorts of weaponry in the manner of Keanu Reeves during the first Matrix movie. When I asked up what was up he motioned toward another shooter who had pulled up and was unloading his guns from the trunk of his car. He said it was one of the local law enforcement officers he new and that the guy was crazy. My co-worker said he was arming himself in case anything happened. At that moment I knew exactly who was crazy and it included me for being there in the first place.

A grasp of what is real versus fantasy can vary greatly from one person to the next. The more time I spend on the web the more I come across people who are similar to the examples I cited above.(or at least their stories seem that way) Compared to a lot of what I see my mundane life is without drama and I (mostly) keep my neuroses hidden. However a lot of other people proudly(loudly?) claim to exist in a reality that I can only take their word for because it is so alien to anything in my experience

Trying to convince the world that YOU are the voice of sanity when everyone around you is insane might not be in one’s best interest. Once everybody goes insane then we can redefine the term and start again.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

