ups and downs at 49

Took off from work in observance of the date expecting to not do much of anything. Things started off downhill as I walked back to the house while reading the main news item in today’s Charlotte Observer Business section. USAirways announced they will no longer ship live animals as cargo to bring them in line with America West policy as they prepare for the upcoming merger. Great. We were waiting on a call from USAirways to let us know the conditions (temperature) were acceptable to ship one of our puppies on a direct flight to Maine. We’ve raised 27 puppies in just three litters over the last ten years and have only shipped two via air to their new homes. Charlotte being a major hub for USAirways pretty much guaranteed a direct flight to anywhere. Now we are faced with connecting flights with another carrier. Think I’ll boycott USAirways going forward. Take THAT you bloated corporate dinosaur! You should have never merged with Piedmont Airlines!

I hoped to pull the Mustang out of the garage and cruise down to the Big Dog Cafe in Waxhaw for a birthday breakfast with my wife but a heavy rain kept the Pony covered and dry.(I only drive it if the weather is nice) We took the xterra instead and both enjoyed omelettes.(I did wear my Waxhaw Street Rod & Car Show t-shirt)

Back on the subject of dogs; the “contract” we use for new puppy owners states that if for any reason the owner cannot keep the dog they must unconditionally return it to us, no questions asked. This is for the protection of the animal so it won’t end up in the shelter, humane society or worse. We feel we can do a better of job of finding a new home. We’ve only had to exercise that option once(due to owner’s childrens’ allergies), strangely enough it was one of the pups we air-freighted. I had to make a day long round trip drive to Virginia Beach but it worked out. Now we are faced with our second “return” but this one is slightly more complicated. We are going thru a “rescue” organization to have them retrieve the dog for us and then we will pick it up. My wife is nervously waiting for the phone to ring and find out they have the dog. (8/19 update – rescue has the dog supposedly in pretty good shape considering what we feared might have been a bad home situation)

Managed to re-watch ‘A Clockwork Orange’ in several sitting between everything else I have done today. I am now feeling the urge to put some Beethoven on the turntable.

It is now official. The routine of receiving a birthday card in the mail from my mother has ended.(none arrived today) My wife and I joke about mom observing every anniversary, birthday, holiday with a trip to the greeting card store.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to ups and downs at 49

  1. bluedragon73 says:

    Hey Happy Birthday! Just think no matter how old you are, I will still be older than you. I turned the big 50 this year.

  2. wackdaddy says:

    Happy Birthday!
    My mom is also one of those people who has kept Hallmark in business over the past 5 decades.

  3. mcmatz says:

    Happy Birthday!
    My mother missed my birthday for 18 days and then called me letting me know she missed it and that she was going to send a present. Four weeks later I got a small broen paper back with one of those small gifty books you see at the checkout in Borders {From a Mother to Her Daughter) with the price tag still stuck on the back and the space in front to write in “to:’ and “fom:” conspicuously blank.
    Can you feel the love?
    Hope it works out with your puppy.
    –Madeline

  4. binky011 says:

    Birthy Hapday!
    I’m not happy about USAirways & Piedmont merging either — but that’s because I really liked Piedmont and don’t care too much for USAirways. 🙂

Leave a Reply

