I hope this isn’t being read by too many people

I’ve noticed in my frequent web searches that an increasing percentage of the search results are blogs commenting on the topic I’m curious about as opposed to what I would consider actual source material. I see this as an extra layer to wade thru on my way to the real story or facts. Do I automatically assume that all info found outside of blogs is “fair and balanced”? No. Nor do I assume that all blogs wrong. But blogs tend not to hide their biases well and as we know from experience as bloggers the only editorial control is our own conscience.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I hope this isn’t being read by too many people

  1. dearest_b says:

    Hold onto your hat. Theorising imminent.
    I’ll agree that searching for the truth can be extremely difficult. There have been a few times where i’ve been looking for something in particular and got so bogged down in ‘opinion’ that i’ve given up looking for the truth anyway.
    I’ve come to the conclusion, that it’s either not out there, or what some have to say often turns out more interesting than what i thought i was looking for.
    Whilst this can be a good thing in opening your mind to others views, etc. It doesn’t tend work out all that well when you’re looking for the train times to Birmingham.

  2. binky011 says:

    Well, at least as you point out, most bloggers don’t bother to hide their bias, which makes it a little easier to discount it. Also, quite a few blogs will point you to the source material they’re using, so you can just use them as a stepping stone to whatever you’re hunting for. I realize this ignores the complaint of “another layer to wade through”, though. The tendancy these days for ‘journalism’ to consist of letting two sides present their views without context makes looking for the truth exceeding hard anyway.

Leave a Reply

