maybe it’s been going on longer that I’d realized

I’ve posted (and ranted) occasionally about how man’s obsession with various technologies isolates him from the realities of human contact and has reduced his potential as a compassionate creature. Then I came across this line from a well known, some might say notorious, 1959 novel I am reading this weekend-
“Western man is externalizing himself in the form of gadgetry.”
So is it the gadgetry that is the true representation of the inner self or the uses we put it to?

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to maybe it’s been going on longer that I’d realized

  1. dearest_b says:

    Interesting point.
    I don’t actually know the answer, but still, it is interesting.
    Gadgetry does seem to be causing an ever increasing clamour, yet. If it doesn’t grab the imagination of its market it, inevitably fails.
    Marketing can be clever in convincing the impulse buyer into believing they can’t do without the latest ‘thing’. But once out there, after word of mouth reviews etc.
    It has to be valuable in some way to the majority.
    However, some of the greatest ideas fail to take off, while really naff ones go on to sell a gazillion.
    I dunno.I think i might have wandered off message here.
    Next!

    • marcsuttle says:

      Speaking of naff ideas that sell a gazillion, how about “ring tones” for mobile phones?

      • dearest_b says:

        Yeah! Often marked as a young peoples thing, it really isn’t at all. Ring tones and daft picture things are BIG business right across the board.
        I can vouch for this, as my 70 year old mother paid 4 quid for a polyphonic version of Strangers In The Night!
        I’d like to put that down to the fact that she is barmy, but she’s the envy of the bus pass set.

Leave a Reply

